Self-Transcending Practices: Dzogchen

Course Description

In this course, Tina gives an overview of the “Self-transcending” category of meditation, in particular the Dzogchen practice of cultivating non-duality as it is taught in Tibetan Buddhism. This course is the culmination of Tina’s previous Innercraft programs: What is Awakening?, Heart-Practices/Bramaviharas, Focused Attention/Samatha, and Open Monitoring/Vipassana. The Self-Transcending practice of Dzogchen uses the other three categories of practice as building blocks, culminating in the possibility of transcending the sense of the ego-self through the Rigpa practice of Dzogchen. The Dzogchen teachings are rarely given, and are extremely hard to find other than in book format, so access to these teachings is a rare opportunity. In this workshop, Tina gives teachings on “the view” from the awakened state, which is the foundation of all teachings in Tibetan / Vajrayana Buddhism. She then provides a brief history of Tibetan Buddhism and Dzogchen, and overview, and gives instructions on each building block of the Dzogchen practice, with guided meditations on each. Dzogchen is a practice that can be taken “off the cushion,” which is essential to not only cultivate non-duality, but also to learn to actually function from the non-dual state.

To get access to this and other courses, live training, and more sign up below!

Course Lessons

1. Dzogchen and neuroscience

Tina provides an overview of the self-transcending practice of Dzogchen, and how it fits into the four neuroscience categories of meditation.

2. Importance of Dzogchen practice

Tina sets the larger context of practice, by discussing the many aspects that are compelling about Dzogchen meditation and why one would want to undertake this practice.

3. Stages of Buddhist practice

Tina discusses how Dzogchen fits into the overall Buddhist practice path.

4. The View

Tina describes “the view” from the awakened state, as it is pointed to and potentially experienced in Rigpa, the self-transcending stage of the Dzogchen practice.

5. Dzogchen History

Tina gives a history of the Nyingma lineage of Tibetan Buddhism, including several of it’s founding and often colorful figures.

6. Dzogchen Overview

Tina provides an overview of the practice of Dzogchen.

7. Dzogchen Meditation: Building Blocks

Tina details the specific practice building blocks for Dzogchen, and gives brief instructions for each.

8. Building Block 1: The Heart Practice of Bodhicitta

Tina provides teaching and goes into more detail about the first building block of Bodhicitta, the aspiration for awakening, for our own benefit and for the benefit of all beings.

9. Practice Session 1- Bodhicitta Meditation with Instructions

Tina gives a guided meditation for the heart practice of Bodhicitta that begins every meditation.

10. Building Block 2: The Focused Attention practice of Samatha with Support

Tina provides teaching and goes into more detail about the second building block of Samatha, also known as Shamata with Support, which is a meditation for concentration and serenity, cultivating a calm abiding.

11. Practice Session 2 – Samatha Meditation with Instructions

Tina gives a guided meditation for the focused attention practice of Samatha / Shamata with Support.

12. Building Block 3A: The Open Awareness Practice of Vipassana

Tina provides teaching and goes into more detail about the first part of the third building block of Samatha without Support, also known as Vipassana. In the Theravadan lineage, this is similar to what is known as Vipassana Choiceless Awareness.

13. Practice Session 3 – Vipassana Meditation with Instructions

Tina gives a guided meditation for the focused attention practice of Shamatha without Support/Vipashyana.

14. Working with hindrances and defilements

Tina talks about the specifics of working with hindrances and defilements for the Dzogchen practice.

15. Building Block 3B: Non-Doing-Meditation

Tina provides teaching and goes into more detail about the next part of the third building block of Shamata without Support, also known as Vipashyana/Vipassana. Tina has added a step called Non-Doing meditation, which makes it easier and more likely to be able to “realize rigpa” in Building Block four.

16. Practice Session 4 – Non-Doing Meditation with Instructions

Tina gives a guided meditation for the Non-Doing meditation.

17. Building Block 4: Realizing Rigpa

Tina provides teaching and goes into more detail about the fourth building block of Realizing Rigpa, which is the potential to have a “taste” of the non-dual state, which can over time become more accessible and even stable.

18. Practice Session 5 – Bodhicitta, Samatha, Vipassana, Non-Doing and Rigpa Meditations with Instructions

Tina gives a guided meditation for the entire sequence of meditation leading up to and including the possibility of realizing rigpa.

19. Further Potentials of Dzogchen and Rigpa

Tina provides teaching on the stages that are possible after realizing rigpa, that can cultivate and potentially lead to a stable rigpa, a stable realization of non-duality.

Tina Rasmussen

Tina Rasmussen

Tina Rasmussen is a meditation teacher who leads retreats and offers spiritual guidance and mentoring to practitioners worldwide. Her mission as a teacher is to foster awakening and its embodiment in worldly life through the application of authentic, rigorous Buddhist and modern practices.

Other Courses You May Like

Open Monitoring Meditation
Tina Rasmussen
Open Monitoring Meditation: Vipassana

In this course, Tina gives an overview of the “Open Monitoring” category of meditation, in particular, the Vipassana practice as it is taught in Theravada and Tibetan Buddhism. Vipassana is also known as Insight Meditation and utilizes our capacity to investigate, to more deeply understand phenomena so that we can develop equanimity in being with things as they are. Investigating our experience can also potentially lead to perceiving phenomena at their ultimate level.

Jukai Taking Refuge
Meido Moore
Jukai: Taking Refuge and Entering the Zen Path

In this course, Meido Roshi discusses various aspects of lay initiation, also known as jukai (“receiving precepts”). After introducing the Three Refuges, Five Lay Precepts, and Four Vows, he then actually conducts the jukai ritual for the viewers. By participating in the course, you therefore have the opportunity to formally enter the Buddhist path.

Shaykh Burhanuddin
Dhikr: Sufi Mantras and Sounds

In this course, Shaykh Burhanuddin covers the practice of Dhikr (Sufi mantras) and how they can be integrated into daily life to unify your heart and mind and act more skillfully in relation to others. In addition, he teaches singing meditation from the Dhrupad singing tradition, among other Sufi practices related to sound.

Samatha Meditation
Tina Rasmussen
Focused Attention Meditation: Samatha

In this course, Tina Rasmussen provides in-depth material on the “Focused Attention” category of meditation, which includes Samatha, and teaches a variety of Samatha meditation techniques as taught in the Pa-Auk Sayadaw lineage. Focused Attention meditation is the foundational practice category in many traditions, and it is necessary for a deeper investigation of the nature of consciousness and the purification of the mind.